Archive | 9:58 pm

Miss Eats eats local, right from her backyard

12 Sep
Cherry Tomatoes! Yum!

Cherry Tomatoes! Yum!

I became an urban gardener about 2 weeks ago. If you count the bushy tomatoes my husband decided to plop in to the backyard this summer, then I’m 3 months new to this whole gardening thing. Truth is, probably like many, I fell into it because of boredom, and like many, I was not born with a green thumb. In fact, I’ve been known often as the green reaper – killing all things green in my path.

No, I am also not growing vegetables in my backyard because of some environmental creed to eat local (though, I fully understand and can appreciate the tastiness of local produce!), but because I am looking for a hobby and my husband’s tomato plants have been immune to my reaper hands, not to mention that they have delighted us with sweet little fruit all summer long!

So how did it happen? Well, it was simply one sunny weekend after many sunny weekends where I was standing bored in my backyard thinking to myself, “I like food. No I really like food! I also have a backyard full of dirt and a whole weekend with nothing to do… Eh, lets grow some food!”

And that’s how it happened. Seriously. $32 dollars worth of seeds later, I’m officially a vegetable gardener.

So this little blog space will be the chronicling of my food gardening adventures. Each week, I’ll be updating the progress of my vegetable patch straight from my urban back yard. The trials and tribulations will be many, so if you’re like me, a complete novice to growing food for yourself, you’ll have a friend here digging dirt, just like you.

Garden start, go!