Day 21: Tweens

4 Oct
My cheeky chinese tweens!

My cheeky chinese tweens!

Boy do children grow up fast. I believe I have tweens on my hands. Yes, vegetables go through puberty too. Just like humans, its the same – awkward looking gangley vegetables with identity crises and pimples. Yep, that’s right, you heard me. TWEENS!

Like people, vegetables too have growth spurts. Some sprout up faster than others. My cheeky chinese vegs are definitely ahead of the pack. Last week, I reported that they were the strongest of the bunch growing broad wide leaves. 7 days later, they’re officially annoying little tweens. Yes, they still want to play with the little kids, but they’re definitely experimenting in bad boy bands. I swear I heard a whisper in the wind that called out Robert Pattison somewhere in my garden this week! Ugh!

Beautiful butter lettuce

Beautiful butter lettuce

But I digress. My veggies are growing strong. Butterhead lettuce’s gorgeous brown leaves are literally gleaming in the sunlight now. They’ve really come into their own. Parents always tell you they have no favorites. Well, as a garden momma, I can tell you that is a complete lie! I do have a favorite and they are my butter lettuces. They’re just so delicate and cute. Sorry kids, there’s no Santa Claus either.

Stepping over to the south planter and the depression sets in. I’ve completely given up on the spinach. Seems they will not be sprouting this year. My sexy chard are also hanging by the lifeline. They look limp and weak. Kale too look a little less handsome than usual. I blame this mostly on the lack of sun on the south side of my back yard and the overdose of rain we’ve been having for the last week. Nothing I can do but pray my little babies will continue to fight the cold and shade with pure awesomeness. Yes, my plants are made of awesome, if you did not know already.

Courageous carrots

Courageous carrots

Curiously though, my carrots have made a rather unexpected dash to the finish line. I found 3 little carrot seeds that have sprouted this week! Don’t give up on the degenerates so fast Vanessa! In such dire conditions, my carrots have decided to brave the cold of October. And because of that I am naming them my little Courageous Carrots! As Derek Zoolander said, “Moisture is the essence of wetness, and wetness is the essence of beauty.” No wiser words could be truer. My 3 brave carrots will be beautiful!

And that’s the 3 week update!

One Response to “Day 21: Tweens”

  1. Liv October 5, 2009 at 4:39 am #

    Amazing! Love those baby lettuces!

Leave a Reply

